mexicovers: July 2006

Monday, July 17, 2006

The Living Marimbas - Mexican Joe

Sr. Mexicant's Dad


To celebrate 70, 000 hits, Sr. Mexicant's dad decided to celebrate the Mexican Way, so he told Ma' he was going to the office, at first she did'nt say a word, but then she remebered that Pa' does not have a job, so she went looking for him only to find out he really was at "The Office" (that's the name of the cantina he goes everyday with his amigos), listening to some marimba music and talking with his friends...

And this is what she heard:

(Liner Notes)

How much more can an album of Latin-Amercian favorites have going for it than arranger-conductor Leo Addeo, the distinctive Living Marimbas, and ten musical forget-me-nots that blend the grace and sweep of the traditional Latin beat with the zest and vigor of the New Sound?

No question about it, there's new life and sparkle these days in the music that's risen from South of the Border. Yet, Leo and the Marimbas make it enchantingly clear that the New Sound is not one single specific sound. It's a feeling, an excitement, a zip, a dash that puts exuberance in songs old and new, slow and fast, gay and sentimental-without obscuring the original melody.

Our title song Mexican Joe, for example, emerges bright, brisk and bouncy. It's alive with excitement and go-go with action.

Listen particularly to the blending of old and new on such Latin-American perennials as Yours, Green Eyes and My Shawl--each a study of romatically beautiful and graceful music.
As many times as you have heard these favorites, you've never heard them quite like this. Listen for the interesting instrumental effects in songs such as My Shawl, which add new spice to each of these ever-favorites.

Enough with analysis! It's music time; so settle back and relax as Leo and the Living Marimbas treat you to the special excitement and color of their particular and disctinctive sound.


And Here's The Track List:

Side A:
01- Mexican Joe
02- Yours (Quiereme Mucho)
03- Mi Cafetal (Put The Foot Down)
04- Green Eyes (Aquellos Ojos Verdes)
05- My Shawl
Side B:
06- Spanish Lace
07- The Peanut Vendor (El Manisero)
08- Jurame
09- Jungle Drums
10- Guadalajara

Please Enjoy!! and remember to play this record only on Stereophonic Equipment!

Thursday, July 13, 2006

The Burbank Philharmonic

First Album (Maybe The Last) --again--


I noticed that the previous post was erased because of inactivity, but hey this is a very good album, so I think it deserves a second chance, so I did the transfer again (it may sound a little better this time) and uploaded it again.

And Here's The Track List:

Side A:
01- Big Noise From Winnetka
02- You've Lost That Lovin' Feeling
03- These Boots Are Made For Walking
04- Italian Village
05- Banjo City
06- Hey Jude
Side B:
07- King Of The Road
08- Spinning Wheel
09- Michelle
10- Light My Fire
11- The Happy Whistler
12- My Special Angel

Please Enjoy!! and remember to play this record only on Stereophonic Equipment!

Tuesday, July 11, 2006

Fiesta Con...Carlos Campos Y Su Orquesta


This is the fourth album posted here from Maestro Carlos Campos, dedicated to his most avid fan: Sr. Phil Musical, it's another album for your dancing pleasure, and the best of includes a danzon version of Quiet Village (track # 4), dedicated to Sr. Xtabay who's an avid fan of this song.

And Here's The Track List:

Side A:
01 - Zacatlan
02 - Tu Voz
03 - Danzones De Salvador Rangel
04 - Villa Quieta
05 - La Valentina
Side B:
06 - El Solterito
07 - El Organillero
08 - El Huerfanito
09 - Pobre Corazon
10 - Juntito Al Mar

Please Enjoy!! and remember to play this record only on Stereophonic Equipment!

Tuesday, July 04, 2006

Carlos Campos - El Campeon De Un Estilo

El Campeon


This is the third album posted from Carlos Campos, called "El Campeon De Un Estilo" or The Champion of A Style from 1973 and the style is Danzon music.
This is a very "refreshing" picture, perfect for this hot summer, even though she's wearing a shirt instead of a bikini, but who cares when there's a beautiful redhead gracing the cover and a great set of songs that will have your feet tappin' and a worn out pair of shoes by the end of the night.
Listen to track #6 Killing Me Softly With His Song.

And Here's The Track List:

Side A:
01- El Tiempo Que Te Quede Libre
02- En Que Quedamos?
03- Que Siga La Danza
04- El Cocodrilo
05- Cucurrucucu Paloma
Side B:
06- Me Esta Matando Suavemente Con Su Cancion
07- Nague
08- La Bikina
09- Los Patinadores
10- Alejandra

Please Enjoy!! and remember to play this record only on Stereophonic Equipment!


Los archivos de esta pagina son con fines educativos, si eres el poseedor de los Derechos de Autor de alguno de estos archivos y te molesta que promocione tu trabajo gratis, hazmelo saber y lo removere inmediatamente.

sr. mexicant