mexicovers: April 2006

Saturday, April 22, 2006

Al Bollington - Organ Hues In Hi-Fi - 1958


I warn you....this LP sounds very spooky....mellow sometimes, it's Al Bollington playing the Conn Organ, and to be honest, I don't know anything about him, and could not find anything on the net either......
If you decide to download it you can read the liner notes (included in the back cover)...but if not, here's a little excerpt:

"One Side of This Album Is Leisurely and Coolly-Colored, the Other Side Bright And Lively-Hued. But Both Are A Hi-Fi Delight...An Amazing Display Of The Electronic Organ's Color Range!"

And Here's The Track List:

Side A:
01- When It's Sleepy Time Down South
02- Mademoiselle De Paree
03- Stormy Weather
04- Star Dust
05- Dream Of A Doll
06- A Blues Serenade
Side B:
07- State Fair Polka
08- La Sorella
09- The Big Thrill
10- Accordion Boogie
11- Sleigh Ride
12- Dizzy Fingers

Please Enjoy!! and remember to play this record only on Stereophonic Equipment!

Wednesday, April 12, 2006

Rudi Bohn-Percussive Oompah

Rudi Bohn & His Band


Here's The Liner Notes:

In the excitingly new technique of PHASE 4 Stereo, comes this year's most colorful, scintillating disc - authentically and faithfully recorded by some of Germany's outstanding musicians: Percussive Oompah.

With remarkable clarity and technical precision, this LP hustles 'n bustles with as much colorful energy and bounce as does a freshly poured glass of good German beer.

There is something for everyone in this record: the listener who revels in hearing new and interesting sounds, who enjoys musical surprises; the listener who wishes to reminisce with the familiar music of the old country; the listener whose rhythmic, toe-tapping fever drives him whirling to his feet for a dance or two.

Each waltz and march, each heady polka bears the unmistakable stamp of light fun which, tempered with the frolicking tempos and rhythms of a band of top-flight native musicians, spells out the album's irresistible appeal: superb entertainment.

And the biggest treat comes from the impeccably correct and excitingly authentic playing of the carefully hand picked ensemble which is so ably led on this LP by one of Germany's foremost artist-conductors: Rudi Bohn.

This bright record will make fine listening for friends too, and is especially designed to make parties jollier. It is sure to become one of the most sparkling additions to your collection of stereo albums.

I would love to be the Band's Tuba Player....mmmm just imagine that tuba full of sennoorrrr!!!
You really have to listen to Mack The Knife, it's an excellent version....

And Here's The Track List:

Side A:
01- Liechtensteiner Polka
02- Goodbye
03- Trink, Trink, Bruderlein, Trink
04- Too Fat Polka
05- O Du Lieber Augustin
06- Pennsylvania Polka
Side B:
07- Mack The Knife
08- Accordion Joe
09- The Happy Wanderer
10- Beer Barrel Polka
11- In Munchen Steht Ein Hofbrauhaus
12- Auf Wiederseh'n Sweetheart

Please Enjoy!! and remember to play this record only on Stereophonic Equipment!

Monday, April 10, 2006

Edmundo Ros - Rhythms Of The South

Found this LP, without the cover (I found this on the net), it's another one from maestro Edmundo Ros. Listen to Capullito de Aleli and Cachita (great songs!!).

And Here's The Track List:

Side A:
01 - Spanish Gypsy Dance
02 - The Blue Danube
03 - Barcarolle
04 - La Machiche
05 - Capullito De Aleli
06 - Siboney
Side B:
07 - Isle Of Capri
08 - Colonel Bogey
09 - Elizabeth
10 - Caminito
11 - Marta
12 - Cachita

Please Enjoy!! and remember to play this record only on Stereophonic Equipment!

Sunday, April 02, 2006

Living Brass-In A Little Spanish Town

Living Brass


Well mis amigos, I've been busy for the past 2-3 weeks and haven't posted anything, thanks for your patience.....I'll try to post more albums this week!!!...Si Sennorrr!!!!

Here's "In A Little Spanish Town" by The Living Brass, arranged and conducted by Ray Martin and produced by Ethel Gabriel.

Here's The Liner Notes:

If the title of this album has you expecting soft, languid, strummed music in the romantic tradition of Old Spain, forget it! You're in for a rollicking musical night on the town.

This is the Living Brass aggregation, man--and nobody sleeps when arranger/conductor Ray Martin and his brassy boys are in the neighborhood, Spanish or otherwise. Their characteristic musical attack releases unexpected spirit, fire and excitement in songs old, new and traditional; sets the toes tapping, the fingers drumming and the strutters strutting.

It couldn't be otherwise when these instrumental specialists team up on the new sound that's sweeping the nation. Other bands may double in brass--but the Living Brass specializes in it, and delivers a savory, rich-bodied sound that never stops swinging or titillating.

Here is all the color, flavor and warmth of the traditional Spanish mood, with such perennials and favorites as In a Little Spanish Town, Cielito Lindo, Guantanamera and Amor, por Favor.

But there's more, much more--daring arrangements and bold instrumental combinations that add new dimensions to the sound, fun and enjoyment of music. To sample a rich slice of the Living Brass' fun-in-sound gamboling, pay special attention to their new-sound treatment of Gotham City Municipal Swing Band.

The bold, brassy sound may have been born in Mexico, but our team of Living Brass specialists makes vibrantly clear its unmatched talent for improving on a good thing-by spicing the traditional Mexican mariachi sound with just the right seasoning of American jazz and rock-and-roll.

Everybody up now---for listening or dancing. It's fun time in an Old Spanish Town with the New Sound and the frolicsome Living Brass.

And Here's The Track List

Side A:
01- In A Little Spanish Town ('Twas On A Night Like This)
02- Tequila
03- Guantanamera
04- El Paso
05- La Bamba
Side B:
06- The Work Song
07- Cielito Lindo
08- Amor, Por Favor
09- El Mariachi Mexicano
10- Gotham City Municipal Swing Band

Please Enjoy!! and remember to play this record only on Stereophonic Equipment!


Los archivos de esta pagina son con fines educativos, si eres el poseedor de los Derechos de Autor de alguno de estos archivos y te molesta que promocione tu trabajo gratis, hazmelo saber y lo removere inmediatamente.

sr. mexicant